Writer Corner# 2: It’s Been A Little Quiet Here

It’s been a few days since I’ve posted anything and it’s left me feeling rather empty inside. I couldn’t let this go on for much longer, my fingers were aching to write and my brain was telling me that even though it had gotten a good break,  I was ready to get back to work again. Celebrating my two year anniversary with my girlfriend this weekend was amazing and fun but alas it’s time to get back into the saddle and write.

So here I am posting to the Writing Corner about not writing. That’s pretty awful of me, I guess. I see a lot of writers on /r/shortscarystories and /r/darktales that post almost daily and wonder how the Hell they do it, then I realize I used to be that writer too. Idea after idea came into my head and I used to bang them out in 275 words. That’s stopped with time. Stories grow more complicated, characters pop into my head, and a plot seems to spawn from the spawn of plot. And I’m okay with that, which leads me to my next point.

It’s time to take the plunge and try my hand at self-publishing a collection of 12 short stories with a novella at the end based on “My Father’s Letter about the Family Jewel”. It’s in the rough draft stage right now so I don’t know how long it will be but I’ll be working on what I have tentatively will be titling  “Thirteen Glasses of Human Gravy”. Or maybe something else more fitting if I feel like I came up with something cool. I already even have the cover art in mind. I want it to be a picture of a severed hand inside a blender with a bunch of blood filled glasses in the background with skin and bones floating in it. That’s what I always imagined a Human_Gravy looking like. So if anyone is an artist and interested in making that picture a reality, go on ahead. I’ll love you for life.

For now, I’m going to get back to work. My real world money making job requires my attention but in the back of my mind, I’ll be thinking about the blenders and hands.

 

This entry was posted in Writing Corner and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

