Blackout

I admit, sometimes, I go overboard on booze. Today was one of those times that I lost control. It was at a barbecue at my in-law’s house. Need I say more?

Last I remember, I bent over too quickly and a rush of dizziness dropped me to the ground. My sister-in-law dragged me upstairs to her old bedroom and told me to get some rest. I closed my eyes for what felt like a moment only to be awakened by someone slapping me in the face.

My eyes shot open and all at once, my head felt like someone had dropped an anvil on it and decided to hammer it into my skull. I wanted to ask for an aspirin and water but the look on the Stranger’s face above me said it all.

“Who died?” I asked jokingly while sitting up.

“Everyone is gone”, the Stranger answered flatly while staring off at nothing. I noticed that the Stranger had wet his pants but I didn’t mention it.

“Where’d they go?” I asked looking around the room for my wife or sister-in-law to come save me. The Stranger answered by pulling the blinds open.

There was nothing but a thick darkness swirling outside the window. It looked like the fog dry ice made.

“It came like a tidal wave. Everyone else is gone. The Sun disappeared”, the Stranger said.

“How could this happen?” I asked aloud to myself.

“I think the world might be over”, the Stranger answered with a sad expression on his face.

“It’ll be okay”, I said reassuring him.

“No, it won’t”, he answered and then pulled the window open.

This entry was posted in Reddit Stories and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

